May 2019


The Harper County Community Foundation recently recognized the grant recipients for the May 2019 round at an Awards Presentation held in conjunction with their Annual Meeting and Family Grant Party. The event was held at 7 p.m., on Tuesday, May 21st at the Anthony Christian Church Gym in Anthony.

The Foundation would like to thank the Anthony Christian Church for hosting the party and The Arts Center for providing entertainment for the children in attendance. For this grant round, 42 grant applications were submitted to HCCF with a total of $243,399.66 requested. The Foundation awarded $116,380.28 to 32 organizations and projects that benefit Harper County. Recipients of both the Jack and Lavera Bertholf as well as the Jean L. Jensen Language Arts Scholarships were recognized during the event. HCCF wishes these scholarship recipients the best of luck in their future endeavors. The foundation’s new Prepare To Launch Program was also enthusiastically represented by Niki Jacobs, Matte Swartz and Kamon Haydock.

Recipients of the May 2019 grant monies are Harper County Transition to Career Program for the Reality U Event, T2C Teacher Internship Program & Mobile Equipment Maintenance Pathway – Mechanics Courses; Anthony Recreation Commission for Batting Cage; City of Attica for Red Ribbon Week and Water Tower Safety Climbing System; Attica Public Schools for Accelerated Reader Reward Program, ADA Regulation Swingset – Playground Improvements, Art Department Modernization, and AEDs; Chaparral High School for Upgraded Library Furniture, Digital Piano and Portable Sound System plus a partnership between Attica and Chaparral for Vernier Science Sensors; Harper Ministerial Alliance and Ministerial Alliance of Anthony for their Summer Food Programs; Harper County K-State Research & Extension for StoryWalk for a Healthier Harper County Project; Anthony Theatre for Part III of their Electrical Upgrades Project; Jr. Titan and Harper County Runners Football Programs; Little Lions Preschool for Equipment & Supplies; VFW Post 11449 for a New Sidewalk in Front of the Post Home; Harper Area Health Foundation’s Imagination Library Program; Harper Public Library for Summer Reading Program Books; Attica Long Term Care for their Community Garden; Anthony Gun Club for Shells Purchase for Shooting Sports; Lego Mini Masterminds STEM Based Club; Hospital District #6’s for Wound Care Specialist Training; Crossroads Family Resource Center for assistance to individuals throughout the County; Harper Mission Mart; Main Street Ministry for their Summer and After School Programs; and Anthony Chamber of Commerce for the Harper County 4th of July “Freedom Celebration.”

HCCF’s Mission is focused on education, human needs, health care, community improvement or rural development projects that will enrich the communities of Harper County through support and resources. The deadline for the next grant round will be October 1, 2019.

More information about HCCF may be found on their website at In addition, any questions may be directed to Michelle Fahring, Assistant to the Foundation, by calling 620-840-1153 (cell phone), or by sending an e-mail to




Photo identification // Front Row left to right:

Mindy Westenhaver, Crossroads Family Resource Center; Kevin Alexander, HCCF Executive Director; Paul Saliger VFW Post 11449; Eddie Barber, Harper Ministerial Alliance; Loretta Kerschen, Hospital District #6; Christy Reel, Harper County K-State Research and Extension; Gwen Warner, Anthony Chamber of Commerce; Mark Alldritt, Harper Mission Mart.


Second Row left to right:

Janie Gates, Main Street Ministry; Tabitha Bandy, Harper County Runners & Anthony Recreation Commission; Megan Inslee & Azure Eslinger, Chaparral Jr./Sr. High School; Angie Alexander, City of Attica; Lisa Newsum, Attica Public Schools; BarBara Wright, Anthony Theatre; Michelle Harder, Harper Public Library.


Back Row left to right:

Britt Hedlund, Harper County Transition to Career; Connie Larcom, Little Lions Preschool; Kathy Zimmerman, Harper Area Health Foundation; Eric Kerschen, Chaparral Jr./Sr. High School; Eric & Sunny Gates, Mini Masterminds; Holly Noble, Attica Long Term Care Center; Brenda Kostner Johnson, Ministerial Association of Anthony; Sid Burkholder, Anthony Gun Club.