The Harper County Community Foundation recently recognized the grant recipients for the May 2023 round at an Awards Presentation held in conjunction with their Annual Meeting. The event was held at 7 PM, on Tuesday, May 23rd at the Memorial Building in Attica. HCCF’s also finalized their first Match Day partnership with The Patterson Family Foundation at this event.

For this grant round, 45 grant applications were submitted to HCCF with a total of $322,017.64 requested. The Harper County Community Foundation awarded $141,030.74 to 39 organizations and projects that benefit Harper County. These monies from the Waste Connection Landfill Revenues and the Harper County Board of Commissioners represent the 29th round of grants awarded since the inception of the granting program in May of 2009. The Foundation also awarded monies from their discretionary funds. A total of $3,211,737.00 has been awarded since the inception of this granting process.

The following scholarship recipients were recognized during the event: Jack and Lavera Bertholf Scholarship // Lily Allen, Tipton Francis, Sidney Swingle; Jean L. Jensen Language Arts Scholarship // Max Goodwin, Jenna Jenkins, Emmery Kastens, Riley Mathews; HCCF Top Scholar Award // Lily Allen, Tipton Francis, Grace Meecham, Kendra Nelson, Sidney Swingle; HCCF Intern Appreciation Scholarship // Brenna Ricke; Charles & Ella Clotene Masner Scholarship // Ashley Vasquez-Alonzo; and Anthony American Legion Scholarship // Jacob Clark, Riley Mathews. Prepare to Launch is also awarding a scholarship to all Harper County graduates upon submission of the e-form found on HCCF wishes these scholarship recipients the best of luck in their future endeavors.

The Foundation would like to thank Donald Holt for serving as the event photographer and The Arts Center for providing entertainment for the children in attendance. More thanks go to Prepare To Launch Squad members Kendra Nelson, Krew Abbott, Kendall Nelson, Sidney Swingle, Brenna Ricke, and Bailey Ricke for their support and service at the Awards Presentation.

Recipients of the May 2023 grant monies include Harper County Transition to Career for T2C Reality U Event, Career Spotlights and the Welding Program; Main Street Ministry’s Youth Program; The Arts Center for their Community Theatre Professional Development and The Makery – Little Creative Libraries; Attica Public Schools for Bulldog PRIDE, School Communication, Theater Program Updates, K-12 Ceramics, Scholars Bowl, Science Department Greenhouse + Outdoor Classroom & Anatomy & Physiology Updates; Anthony Recreation Commission for Ballfield Improvements; American Legion Jeff Long Post 104 for Back Porch Upgrades; Chaparral for Improving the Commons Area, eSports Program, Jr. High Cheer Uniforms, Jr./Sr. High Track & Field, and Jr. High Wrestling Singlets & Bags; Southern Wind Special Olympics for New Uniforms; City of Harper for Harper West Main Park/Arena Renovation & Events; Country Care Hospice; Anthony Chamber of Commerce for Sunflower Balloon Fest Entertainment & Advertising; Harper Recreation Commission for Picnic Tables at the Ballfields; Attica Long Term Care for an Ice Cream Machine; Harper County Homegrown Farm & Art Market; Anthony Community Care Center for their Sprinkler System Backflow; Attica Saddle Club for Bleachers; Anthony Gun Club’s Shells Purchase for Shooting Sports; Harper County Core Community; Anthony Christian Church for their Community Youth Group; Harper Swimming Pool for Improvements; Anthony Theatre, Inc. for Lighting Computer Upgrades; Attica Recreation Commission for Ballfield Improvements; Attica Hunter Safety; Harper County Conservation District for Meeting Tables and Chairs; Chaparral TSA for Drones; and Harper County Community HOPE.

HCCF’s Mission is focused on education, human needs, health care, community improvement, or rural development projects that will enrich the communities of Harper County through support and resources. The deadline for the next grant round will be October 1, 2023.

More information about HCCF may be found on their website at In addition, any questions may be directed to Michelle Fahring, Assistant to the Foundation, by calling 620-840-1153 (cell phone), or by sending an e-mail to EIN 48-1189755.

Entering our 27th year we’d like to express our gratitude to the generous donors and volunteers who’ve contributed to our success. Thank you. Kevin Alexander


Photo identification // Front Row left to right:

Juliana Whisman, The Arts Center & Anthony Theatre; Iona Sallee, Charles Haxton & Holly Noble, Attica Long Term Care; Karen Aldis & Jinnie Berry, Harper County Community HOPE; Robin Ybarra, Attica Science Department; Luciana Thornton, Harper County Homegrown; Jenny Johnston, Southern Wind Special Olympics & Harper Recreation Commission; Karen Befort, City of Harper; Angie Ord, Harper Swimming Pool; Brandie Waldschmidt, Attica USD 511; Bonny Giesen, Attica Art Department; and Jessica Jaeger, Chaparral Jr High Cheer.

Back Row left to right:

Pam Gerber, Harper County Core Community; Angie Alexander, Attica Saddle Club & Attica Recreation Commission; Mike Loreg, Attica Hunter Safety; Matthew Wilson, Chaparral TSA & eSports; Jana Scripsick & Teresa Achilles, Country Care Hospice; Seth Orr, Anthony Community Care Center; Mike Reed, Chaparral, Jr/Sr High School Track & Field; Curt Clark, Anthony Chamber of Commerce; Bryan Hilgemann, Main St. Ministry; Bobby Waldschmidt, T2C Welding Program; Jason Wolff, Harper County Conservation District; Ron Shrader, American Legion Jeff Long Post 104; Robin Struble, Bruce Miller & Matt Wetherill, Harper County Conservation District; DeJay Vaughn, Anthony Christian Church Youth Group; Jeslin Durham & Elizabeth Ricker, Chaparral Jr High Cheer; and LeRoy Matthews, American Legion Jeff Long Post 104.